Vegie Update…

I figured that it’s been a while since I wrote about our fabulous vegie patches, so I thought I share how they are going!

We have had some heavy downpours of rain which has meant we didn’t need to water much during late Autumn and the start of Winter, but we haven’t had much lately. We have lots of winter crops on the go at the moment, along with some all-year-round varieties too.

IMG_8007

Broccoli heads are just popping up, but no cauliflower heads yet.

 

The turnip, swede and parsnip tops are growing well, though we cant see any solid growth under them yet.

The turnip, swede and parsnip tops are growing well, though we cant see any solid growth under them yet.

 

This onion bed hasn't produced as much as I thought it would. Plus I'm not too sure what is onion tips and what is weeds, so I'm letting it grow up a bit more before heavily weeding!

This onion bed hasn’t produced as much as I thought it would. Plus I’m not too sure what is onion tips and what is weeds, so I’m letting it grow up a bit more before heavily weeding!

 

 

The leafy greens have done superbly. We have been harvesting lettuce and spinach for weeks, and the cabbages are growing up nicely.

The leafy greens have done superbly. We have been harvesting lettuce and spinach for weeks, and the cabbages are growing up nicely.

 

 

 

These were the first carrot seedlings we planted, and though they are doing well, there aren't as many as I would have liked. We harvested our first crop today. They were small and sweet, but twisted!

These were the first carrot seedlings we planted, and though they are doing well, there aren’t as many as I would have liked. We harvested our first crop today. They were small and sweet, but twisted!

 

The garlic popped through pretty quickly, but because I got them from a friend, I'm not 100% sure on when to harvest them. I'll have to look it up :)

The garlic popped through pretty quickly, but because I got them from a friend, I’m not 100% sure on when to harvest them. I’ll have to look it up 🙂

 

 

The strawberries are in the patio, not the vegie patch, but they have continued to flower and produce fruit since last spring! We have to keep them in hanging baskets and off the ground because the dogs like to bite into them!

The strawberries are in the patio, not the vegie patch, but they have continued to flower and produce fruit since last spring! We have to keep them in hanging baskets and off the ground because the dogs like to bite into them!

I've been keeping a diary of what/when has been planted and harvest, along with basic info from the seed packets.

I’ve been keeping a diary of what/when has been planted and harvest, along with basic info from the seed packets.

 

And here are the rewards we get to reap!

And here are the rewards we get to reap!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Vegie Update…

  1. I really like the look of your raised beds, totally different to anything I’ve seen and actually a rather clever design! Great photos too. Interesting to see 2 trees near the beds, do they shade your crops at all? I’m designing our veg patch around 2 fruit trees.

Tell me your thoughts... Go on, really, please tell me!

