Decorating…

On the first of December we put up our Christmas tree. It’s a tradition that Mike and I started when we first moved in together. The kids love helping to hang the decorations and don’t seem to mind when I rearrange them a bit later on!

This year's effort

This year’s effort

A few years ago, I heard about the ‘Elf on the Shelf’ phenomenon and loved the idea.  However, I thought the actual elf was a little creepy looking so we decided to find our own elf and kind of plagiarise the idea! Below is our elf (napkin holders, coz it’s really hard to find elf figurines!) and he flies home to Santa each night to let the big guy know if Megan and Alex have been naughty or nice. He comes back to a new spot each morning and the kids know not to touch him or he loses his magic! (And I found a cool back up plan if they do become bold and touch!)

elf

Always watching..!

We started the tradition of the family activity advent calendar last year and loved it. We swapped the activities around this year to suit weekends etc, but can’t wait to get started! My favourite is for the kids to ‘find a toy and a book to donate’ 🙂

advent calendar

Kinda impressed myself with this!

Mike braved the hot day today to hang the lights on the house. Sadly a few bulbs didn’t make it, but I love the look of them even with a few missing 🙂

And here are a few of my favourite decorations that I’ve put into a gallery. I’m getting in the spirit!!

5 thoughts on “Decorating…

  1. Wow, that is a fantastic advent thing for your family! 😀
    And your chalkboard countdown is VERY similar to ours, except it’s a snowman!

  2. Pingback: Christmas Around the World and Christmas in 2 Days | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

Tell me your thoughts... Go on, really, please tell me!

