Camping and Postcards…

The countdown is on…

This coming Friday marks the start of School Holidays here in Victoria and we are off on our first camping trip in our not-so-new tent (we bought it in April but have only tested it in the backyard!).

We are heading to Adelaide for 5 nights, to a fantastic caravan park that Hubby and I have been to a few times. It’s right on the beach, and even though September isn’t really ocean swimming weather, I’m hoping for at least a couple of nice days to make sandcastles and splash in the shallows. A bus trip into the heart of Adelaide is high on the kids’ to do list too, though I’m sure it’s the bus that is the drawcard, not the destination!

We have decided to drive the 800ish kms in one day, and so are leaving in the wee hours of Saturday morning, or as I like to call it…the night before! I’m hoping the kids will go straight back to sleep after we pluck them from their beds and strap them into their car seats. Coz who really wants to deal with 2 pre-schoolers in the car from 4 am until mid afternoon??!!!!

We are as planned and organised as much as we can be 5 days out, with this nifty checklist that Pinterest found for me, compiled from several that I found (see here) Crinkled already, yep that’s us!

checklist

I’ve also made as many ‘entertain-the-kids-in-the-car-without-DVDs’ activities as I can think of (also thanks to Pinterest), but really there is only so much room in the car. There’s I Spy/bingo games, colouring sheets, “car bucks”, stickers, felt boards, play dough balloons, plus the “Make It” book I made a few weeks ago! I’m sure I’ll be posting about how many of them worked or didn’t! Plus there is always those DVDs in cases of emergency 🙂

activities

On a side note, (but not really) I’m hooking up with some other lovely WordPress bloggers and exchanging postcards with them. And since I’m a work smarter not harder kinda gal, I figured I’ll find some lovely postcards en-route to Adelaide, which will showcase this beautiful country to those around the world! Tourist/Information centres are great places to find postcards and they always have clean toilets and grassy spaces for the necessary stops along our day-long drive. And it works out well because my mum always loves getting postcards, so we’ll be searching for nice ones anyway. If you’d like to join in on the postcard exchange, leave me a comment below 🙂

So, tonight ticks off 5 more sleeps until we camp away…the excitement is building in our house!

4 thoughts on “Camping and Postcards…

  1. Have FUN!! And I’m glad you are enjoying the postcard exchange. 🙂
    Btw, it seems you’ve been booted from my Reader again, because all these posts are new to me! ERGG I promise, I AM following you… *sigh*

Tell me your thoughts... Go on, really, please tell me!

